Lok Sabha Election 2019 Phase 6: Penultimate phase of General Elections

Nagaur: Voters show their finger marked with indelible ink after casting vote at a polling station during the fifth phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, in Nagaur district, Monday, May 06, 2019. (PTI Photo)(PTI5_6_2019_000067B)

News Desk

The sixth phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections has started Sunday morning. Polling is being held in seven states on 59 parliamentary constituencies. According to election commission, in this phase 10.16 crore people will vote with 5.42 crore Men and 4.74 crore women voters. A total of 979 candidates including 769 independent candidates have been fielded with 54 from BJP, 49 from BSP and 46 from congress.

Out of 59 seats 34 are declared red alert seats. Red alert constituencies are those where 3 or more contesting candidates have declared criminal cases against themselves, according to the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR).

Elections will be held across 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 seats in Haryana, eight each in Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, seven seats in Delhi and four in Jharkhand. This will be lead to completion of 483 seats out of 543 seats of this election.

This phase will also decide the fate of key leaders including Aam Aadmi Party chief and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, Union Minister Maneka Gandhi and Congress leader Digvijaya Singh. Pragya Thakur, Malegaon bomb blast accused Pragya Thakur, BJP candidate is fielded against Digvijay Singh is contesting against

With this the second last leg of Indian general election will end.


Independent journalism can’t be independent without your support, contribute by clicking below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here