Kamal Haasan To Contest Election From Coimbatore South Constituency

Haasan's party is being waged on the platform of anti-corruption and good governance.

Kamal Haasan

Kamal Haasan, the founder of Makkal Needhi Maiam, will run for the Coimbatore South Constituency in the Tamil Nadu Assembly election. He had previously released the first list of 70 party candidates for the April 6 Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, including a former associate of former President APJ Abdul Kalam.

In the Coimbatore South constituency, Kamal Haasan is contesting against BJP and Congress candidates. The alliance, which is contesting the polls with two allies, actor R Sarath Kumar’s All India Samathuva Makkal Katchi (AISMK) and Lok Sabha MP Paarivendhar’s India Jananayaka Katchi (IJK), has declared that it will contest 154 of the 234 seats, leaving the rest to its two allies.

Haasan announced the candidacy of 70 people for his party’s first assembly election contest, which is being waged on the platform of anti-corruption and good governance.

Also read: The Election Commission’s integrity must not be compromised: Supreme Court

Former IAS officer Santhosh Babu has been nominated by the party for Villivakkam in the metropolis, while V Ponraj, a scientist and former associate of the late Kalam, has been nominated from Anna Nagar in the district.

The alliance, which has been called a “First Front” by the respective party leaders rather than a “Third Front” as others have indicated, has appointed Haasan as its chief ministerial candidate.

Meanwhile, following its seat-sharing deal with the lead partner, the Vaiko-led MDMK, a DMK ally, listed the six assembly segments from which it would challenge.MDMK will take the field for the first time.

Also read: WB Elections-Massive “No Vote to BJP” rally in Kolkata

Madurantakam (SC), Sathur, Palladam, Madurai South, Vasudevanallur (SC), and Ariyalur are among the MDMK’s candidates.

The MDMK’s candidates will run on the DMK’s Rising Sun symbol, according to an arrangement signed with the latter.

The DMK has reached an understanding with the All India Forward Bloc for a single seat, which will be contested under the Rising Sun emblem.

The MK Stalin-led DMK has also decided on the constituencies in which some of its allies will run, including the Indian Union Muslim League, which will run candidates in the Vaniyambadi, Kadayanallur, and Chidambaram segments.

Click here to subscribe to our youtube channel


Independent journalism can’t be independent without your support, contribute by clicking below.

April 2024


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here