Arvind Kejriwal led Aam Aadmi Party is all set to return to power in Delhi as the party forges ahead to a resounding victory in the Delhi Assembly elections.

As of now, AAP is leading in 58 seats, with wins in 5 more seats. This will be the third time in a row that Arvind Kejriwal will be the Chief Minister of Delhi.

The star faces of the party, Arvind Kejriwal, Atishi and Manish Sisodia also won from their respective seats.

AAP is also leading in areas like Okhla, Seelampur, Matia Mahal, Mustafabad which are Muslim dominated and saw violence during the anti CAA protests.

As of 3 pm, in Okhla, which houses Shaheen Bagh, the epicenter of the protests against the Citizenship Act, AAP sitting MLA Amanatullah Khan is leading by a margin of over 42,000 votes. BJP’s Braham Singh is a distant second with 7,312 votes in his favour.

BJP which had its entire campaign on Shaheen Bagh and national narrative of Kashmir, article 370 and Balakot is trailing with leads from only 8 seats currently. Despite that, the party has improved its stand from 3 seats in 2015 to 8 in 2020 elections.

Congress which had a very lackluster campaign and no CM candidate to show is completely wiped out of the city with not even a single seat.

BJP´s campaign this election has been that of communal polarisation with regular hate speeches and vitriol from BJP leaders. There were incidents of gun fires at shaheen bagh and Jamia neighborhood. Delhi has been a hotbed of anti – CAA and student protests since December onwards. It was hard to judge which way people will vote, but the results of Delhi Elections have shown that BJP´s politics of hate is not going down well with the people.

Delhi has also shown that it does not fall for the provocative hate speeches as seen by the election results. BJP is trailing in seats where Anurag Thakur, Parvesh Singh made provocative statements. They were also BJP’s star campaigners.

With the results of the Delhi elections, BJP´s saffron footprint is shrinking on the Indian map. It is also a huge setback for BJP soon after losing elections in Jharkhand and Maharashtra.



Independent journalism can’t be independent without your support, contribute by clicking below.

February 2024



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here