Karnataka elections 2023

The Karnataka Assembly election is scheduled to be held on May 10 and the results will be announced on May 13, said the Election Commission of India on Wednesday.

The election will be held for all 224 assembly constituencies. The election Model Code of conduct will be implemented from today (March 29).

During the press conference, he said “First-time voters have increased from 2018-19 by 9.17 lakhs in Karnataka. All young voters who are turning 18 years of age by April 1, will be able to vote in Karnataka Assembly elections.”

The Congress party announced its first list of 124 candidates on March 25. Former Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will contest from Varuna and Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar will contest from Kanakapura constituency.

Schedule for Karnataka Assemble elections:

Date of issuing gazette notification: April 30
Date of making nominations: April 20
Date of scrutiny of nominations: April 23
Last date for withdrawal of nominations: April 24
Date of poll: May 10
Date of counting: May 13

Earlier on March 20, the Aam Aadmi Party on March 20 also released its first list comprising 80 candidates. The party has said it will field candidates in all the 224 Assembly constituencies in the state.

The tenure of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on May 24, 2023.

The previous assembly elections in the state were held in May 2018.

There has been no clear mandate in Karnataka since 2004, barring the year 2013, when the Congress emerged victorious with a comfortable majority. The BJP emerged as the single largest party in the 2018 Assembly elections, winning 104 seats, but fell short of a majority by 9 seats. The Congress (80 seats) and JD(S), with 37 seats, quickly announced an alliance and formed the government. However, the JDS-Congress government fell a year later and BJP formed the government.


Independent journalism can’t be independent without your support, contribute by clicking below.

February 2024


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here