Did the Farmers massacre affect Lakhimpur Kheri Elections?

Union Home Minister Ajay Misha Teni's car ran over protesting farmers killing eight people of which there were four farmers in October last year.

lakhimpur kheri

Lakhimpur Kheri the largest district in Uttar Pradesh, bordering Nepal came to centre stage when Union Home Minister Ajay Misha ran over protesting farmers killing eight people of which there were four farmers in October last year. The farmers were protesting against the three farm laws.

Today the counting started from 8 AM for assembly elections in UP, Uttarakhand, Punjab and Manipur.

The vote count is still going on 8 assembly seats in Lakhimpur Kheri. The constituency is a part of the Kheri parliamentary constituency and falls under the Kheri district.

Current counting trends show that Yogesh Verma of BJP is leading in the Lakhimpur Kheri Assembly seat. While Utkarsh Verma Madhur of SP is on the second number.

There was lot of anger among farmers all over India and Ajay Mishra Teni was also arrested after much pressure. But he was released from jail a month ago on bail. There was expectations that people would show their anger for the ruling party in elections too.

In the fourth phase of election in Lakhimpur Kheri, 62.5% has voted. In the last election BJP has done a clean sweep. After the farmers maccascre, the road was not easy for BJP and it was a prestige issue for BJP too.

The candidates from different parties are as such;

Congress’s Ravishankar Trivedi, BJP’s Yogesh Verma, SP’s Uttarkash Verma, BSP’s Mohan Bajpai and AIMIM’s Mohd. Usman Siddiqui has joined.

It is seen in the early stages that the farmers massacre had no impact on this election. The Samajwadi Party is leading in two of the eight constituencies Lakhimpur Kheri, while the BJP is leading in the remaining six seats.

The BJP has been leading in the election with 4,832 votes in Lakhimpur Kheri, 9,468 in Gola Gokarnnath, 12,854 in Mohammadi 4,777 in Dhaurhara, 3,966 in Kasta and 4,711 in Srinagar. On the other hand, the Samajwadi party candidates have taken the lead in Mohammedi and Paliya.

Earlier, all eight Assembly seats were held by the BJP in Lakhimpur Kheri. In Lakhimpur city, defending legislator Yogesh Verma is contesting against SP’s Utkarsh Verma Madhur. The Congress was looking forward to its candidate Ravi Shankar Trivedi. BJP’s Yogesh Verma is currently leading with 2,787 votes over SP’s Utkarsh Verma Madhur.


Independent journalism can’t be independent without your support, contribute by clicking below.

May 2024


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here