Anti-CAA Activist Akhil Gogoi wins Sibsagar seat in Upper Assam

Peasant leader Akhil Gogoi who established Raijor Dal contested was an independent candidate after it failed to register itself as a political party.

Peasant and Anti-CAA Activist Akhil Gogoi | PC:

Farmer leader Akhil Gogoi, who was arrested under the draconian Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) during the anti-CAA (Citizenship Amendement Act) agitations, had contested from the Sibsagar constituency in Assam. He has emerged victorious.

Akhil Gogoi, aged 45 who is currently admitted to the Guwahati Medical College Hospital (GMCH), has defeated his opponent from BJP Surabhi Rajkonwari in Sibsagar constituency in Upper Assam.

Akhil Gogoi leading the Anti – CAA Agitations | PC:

Akhil Gogoi was involved in the Krishi Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS), a group of farmers’ rights fighters. After his arrest, a party named Raijor Dal was formed in October 2020 while Gogoi was in prison. He was elected as the president of the party. Yet another activist, Bhasko de Saikia, is its executive chairman. The Rijor Dal Party contested 17 seats in this election.

Akhil Gogoi has been at the forefront of the CAA fight in Assam since 2019. Akhil Gogoi has been charged with rigorous UAPA protests against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) in December 2019 and has been in judicial custody ever since.

Assam state politics was majorly affected by the implementation of the National Register of Citizenship (NRC) which deemed at least 1.9 million people as non-citizens and the widespread anti-Citizenship Amendment Act protests. This movement had left atleast 5 youth killed.  Major peasant leaders of the movement including Akhil Gogoi was arrested by the National Investigative Agency (NIA) under the draconian UAPA law. It is this context that led to the establishment of Raijor Dal and Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP) emerged as two major political outfits in attempts to defeat the BJP-AGP Alliance. Raijdor Dal emerged out of the 70-odd organizations of the marginalized communities that had led the peasant and land rights movements across the state earlier.

Gogoi though established the party and submitted its nominations while being jailed in the Guwahati Central Jail, contested as an independent candidate after Raijor Dal had failed to register itself as a political party before the nominations.

In Assam, the BJP will continue to hold power once again with a lead in 76 constituencies. The Congress alliance has won 48 seats.

Also Read: Assam elections: A battle of alliances


Independent journalism can’t be independent without your support, contribute by clicking below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here