16 Oppn Parties to Boycott Presidential Address Tomorrow in Budget Session: Ghulam Azad

In a press statement released by the leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad has informed that, 16 Political Parties are going to boycott the President’s Address to the Joint Session of the Parliament. The address is set to be delivered on 29th of January in the beginning of the Budget Session.

“The major reason behind this is that, the Farm Bills were forcibly passed in the House, without Opposition”, Ghulam Nabi told ANI. Releasing the Press Statement, the 16 Political  Parties have further demanded an impartial investigation into the incidents of violence in Delhi on the Republic Day. Referring to the 2 month-long movement of farmers, the statement said, “the protests and agitation have been largely peaceful. Unfortunately, few incidents of violence in Delhi happened, which have been universally condemned.” The statement continues to say, “we believe an impartial investigation will reveal the Central Government’s nefarious agenda in orchestrating those events.”

Also Read: The Farmer Struggle Must Be Fought Together and Across The States: Darshan Pal

On the three farm laws, statement said “if not repealed, these laws will effectively dismantle the edifice of National Food Security that rests upon MSP, Government Procurement, and Public Distribution System (PDS) […] Parliamentary scrutiny was bypassed and the laws were pushed through muzzling of opposition”.

Besides Congress, the 15 other parties part of the boycott are Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India, Nationalist Congress Party, Shiv Sena, All India Trinamool Congress, Dravid Munnetra Kazhagam, Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Indian Union Muslim League, Revolutionary Socialist Party, People’s Democratic Party, Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, Kerala Congress and All India United Democratic Front.


The Budget Session of 2021 is set to be inaugurated on 29th January with the Presidential Address, and Nirmala Sitharaman, the Finance Minister will be presenting the budget on the 1st of February.


Independent journalism can’t be independent without your support, contribute by clicking below.

June 2024


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here